Is Mountain Dew Vegan?

what is mountain dew

Is Mountain Dew Vegan? Being vegan these days is crucial. On the other hand, it is a bit difficult to live with, because you have to let go of so many things that are good for your body.

However, being vegan has so many benefits for your body. Vegan diets can help you maintain a healthy heart and can protect you from certain cancers, gain weight, and help you lose weight.

The first question that starts to fall in your head when going vegan is: What are the alternative vegan food I have to take?

In this topic, we are going to talk about Mountain Dew.

What Is Mountain Dew:

mountain dew

Mountain Dew is a soda manufacturer owned and produced by PepsiCo. The Appalachian moonshiners called their alcohol “mountain dew” as far back as the 1880s. Thus, in 1882 they utilized the word “mountain dew” to make sure that law enforcement would not understand they were referring to prohibited alcohol throughout restriction.

Back in 1932, two siblings from Knoxville, Barney, Tennessee, and Ally Hartman understood that if they can create a good mixer, they would certainly have earnings. The brothers developed a drink with cane sugar, citrus flavoring, and carbonation, and they called their mixture Mountain Dew.

After the failure of their product and the rejection from Coca Cola to partner with them, the Hartman siblings sold the legal rights to their Mountain Dew formula to a firm called Tip Corporation. The proprietor of the company, Bill Jones, needed to modify the recipe to make it much tastier. The freshly overhauled Mountain Dew was released in 1961, and it was an instant hit in Marion, Virginia.

A couple of years later, in 1964, Jones decided to market his soda, so he went directly to the head office of Pepsi Cola in New York City with his formula. Pepsi recognized the capacity of the soda and purchased the formula from Jones.

What Going Vegan Mean:

what going vegan mean

Veganism is a method of living that gets rid of any kind of cruelty, and animal exploitation, whether for food, clothes, or any other objective.

For these reasons, vegan people exclude on their diet any products that have animal components like meat, eggs, and dairy.

Food to avoid while going vegan:

  • Fowl and meat: This includes Steed, veal, organ meat, beef, lamb, wild meat, pork, chicken, turkey, goose, duck, quail, and more.
  • All kinds of seafood: This includes fish, anchovies, squid, scallops, shrimp, calamari, mussels, crab, lobster, etc.
  • Dairy products: Milk, cheese, yogurt, butter, cream, ice cream, and so on.
  • Eggs: This includes ostriches, quails, poultries, fish, etc.
  • Bee products: Like bee pollen, honey, royal jelly, and more.
  • Elements in animal: This includes isinglass, gelatin, cochineal or carmine, casein, shellac, L-cysteine, egg white albumen, whey, lactose, animal-derived vitamin D3, and also fish-derived omega-3 fats.

Food to eat:

  • Seitan, tofu, and tempeh: These offer a flexible protein-rich choice to poultry, eggs, meat, and fish in numerous food dishes.
  • Legumes: Foods such as beans, lentils, and peas are outstanding resources of several nutrients and useful plant substances. Growing, fermenting, and correct food preparation can increase nutrient absorption.
  • Nut butter and nuts: Specifically unroasted and unblanched selections, which are excellent resources of iron, fiber, zinc, vitamin E, selenium, and magnesium.
  • Seeds: Specifically flax seeds, hemp, and chia, which are rich in beneficial omega-3 fats and protein.
  • Yogurts and calcium strengthened plant milk: These aid vegans acquire their recommended nutritional calcium consumption. Pick for selections enhanced with vitamins D and B12 whenever feasible.
  • Algae: Spirulina, as well as chlorella, are great resources of full protein. Various other selections are terrific resources of iodine.
  • Nutritional yeast: This is a simple method to enhance the protein content of vegan meals and also include an interesting cheesy taste. Choose vitamin B12-strengthened selections whenever feasible.
  • Cereals, entire grains, and pseudocereals: These are a terrific resource of complicated carbohydrates, iron, fiber, B-vitamins, and numerous minerals. Teff, spelt, amaranth and quinoa are particularly high protein choices.
  • Fermented and grown plant foods: Sauerkraut, tempeh, miso, natto, Ezekiel bread, pickles, kimchi, and also kombucha usually include vitamin K2 and probiotics. Fermenting and growing can furthermore enhance mineral absorption.
  • Vegetables and fruits: Both are terrific foods to boost your nutrient consumption. Leafy greens like spinach, kale, watercress, bok choy, and mustard greens are incredibly rich in calcium and also iron.

Is Mountain Dew Vegan?


Most of the Mountain Dew flavors are considered vegan.

Which Of Mountain Dew Flavors Are Vegan:

Mountain Dew Original, Ice Lemon Lime, Code Red, Live Wire, Voltage, Liberty Blue, Pitch Black, White Out, Diet, Diet Code Red, Merry Mash-up.

Mountain Dew Ingredients:

The ingredients that used in Mountain Dew original are:

  1. Citric acid
  2. Concentrated orange juice
  3. Carbonated water
  4. High fructose corn syrup
  5. Natural flavors
  6. Sodium benzoate
  7. Caffeine
  8. Sodium citrate
  9. Erythorbic acid
  10. Gum arabic
  11. Yellow 5
  12. Ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid.

Mountain Dew Nutrition Facts:

mountain dew

One bottle (12fl. Oz) of Mountain Dew provides:

  • Calories: 170
  • Calories from fat: 0g
  • Total fat: 0g
    •  Saturated fat: 0
    • Trans fat: 0
  • Cholesterol: 0mg
  • Sodium: 60mg
  • Total carbohydrates: 46g
    • Dietary fiber: 0g
    • Sugars: 46g
  • Protein: 0g
  • Potassium: 6mg
  • Alcohol: 0g
  • Vitamin A: 0mg
  • Vitamin C: 0mg
  • Calcium: 0mg
  • Iron: 0mg
  • Caffeine: 55mg

Mountain Dew Production History:

The original formula of Mountain Dew was first created in 1940 by the brothers Tennessee drink bottlers, Barney and Ally Hartman. After that, the siblings needed to sell the legal rights to this formula to the Tip Corporation of Marion, Virginia firm where Bill Jones of this firm improved the recipe and introduced it in 1961. In 1964 the legal rights for this brand were sold from Bill Jones to the Pepsi Cola firm, and the distribution broadened throughout the United States and Canada, and Bill Jones ended up being a millionaire ever since.

In the period between the 1940s and 1980s, there was only one option of Mountain Dew in several markets, which was caffeinated and citrus-flavored. The first Diet Mountain Dew was presented in 1988. After that, Mountain Dew Red was created and presented, then stopped later in 1988. In 2001, a cherry taste named Code Red debuted. On the other hand, the line of this product expansion trend has continued with growth right into specialized restricted time manufacturing, region-specific, and merchant certain variants of Mountain Dew.

In 1996, the creation of mountain dew was reached to the UK, yet this creation terminated in 1998. With the same name but with a different taste product with a recipe much more similar to the original American product has been marketed in the UK as Mountain Dew Energy in 2010 as well as in Ireland since the springtime of 2011. The product name was restored in 2014 to merely Mountain Dew. Since 2017, the company has stood for a 6.6% share of the carbonated soda market within the United States. [1]

Related Is Mountain Dew Vegan articles:

Is Mountain Dew Vegan?